Footnotes: I. Introduction

1 Popper, 1986, p. 150.

2 By historicism, Popper means an approach to the social sciences which assumes that historical prediction is their principal aim, and which assumes that this aim is attainable by discovering the ‘rhythms’ or the ‘patterns’, the ‘laws’ or the ‘trends’ that underlie the evolution of history. Ibid., p. 3.

3 Ibid., pp. 151–152.

4 Haffner, 1987, pp. 14, 15 (transl.).

5 Quoted in Mondrian, 1987, p. 15.

6 Matisse, 1947, pp. 81–84 (transl.).

7 Schelling, 1856–61, quoted from Hoffmeister, 1955, p. 67 (transl.).

8 Nietzsche, 1967, p.33.

9 For a brief summary of the most important theoretical concepts of psychoanalysis,
see p. 245f. in this book.

10 Freud (1938), Standard Edition, XXIII, 1964, p. 148.

11 These relations were recognized by Freud early on and extensively discussed in several papers. The infant probably hallucinates the fulfillment of its internal needs; it betrays its unpleasure, when there is an increase of stimulus and an absence of satisfaction by the motor discharge of screaming and beating about with its arms and legs, and it then experiences the satisfaction it has hallucinated. (Freud [1911], Standard Edition, XII, 1958, p. 220, footnote).

12 In his theory of the two poles of the self, Kohut merely circumscribes the elementary structure adopted by the ego when it integrates the contents of the id or the superego. In this sense, Kohut’s theory does not contradict the Freudian concept of the ‘psychic apparatus’—despite the opinion of many analysts to the contrary—but simply presents another aspect of the same psychic factors. The two poles of the self do not represent instances but rather functional connections that arise out of their relational structure. The exhibitionist pole articulates the agreement between the ego and the id; the idealized pole between the ego and the superego.

13 Kant, 1993 (1798), pp. 416–417.

14 See Kohut, 1978, vol. 1, p. 238.
15 Art historically: At this time a group of young artists in Paris gathered around the painter Edouard Manet. In 1873 they founded the Société Anonyme des Artistes, Peintres, Sculpteurs et Graveurs (see pp. 117ff.), which gave birth to Impressionism. Sociologically: In Paris, besieged in the winter of 1870/71, the commune marked the beginning of a new epoch. According to Haffner, for the first time issues were addressed that the entire world is struggling with today: democracy or dictatorship, a system of councilors or parliament, socialism or welfare capitalism, secularization, popular armament, even the emancipation of women—all of these issues suddenly became the order of the day. Spontaneous ur-forms thereof are found in the commune. (Haffner, 1987, p. 61, transl.).

116 Szczesny, 1974, p. 11.

17 Giacometti, 1963, n.p. (transl.).

18 Kohut, 1978, vol. 2, pp. 836–38.

19 For instance Herder, Wölfflin, Scheffler, Spengler, Toynbee, Hauser, Focillon.

20 This approach forms the exception, to which I do not wish to apply the corresponding designation of classicism for reasons that will be discussed later.

Fussnoten zu: I. Einführung


1) Popper, 1965/87, S. 117-119

2) Unter Historizismus versteht Popper jene Einstellung zu den Sozialwissenschaften, "die annimmt, daß historische Voraussage deren Hauptziel bildet und daß sich dieses Ziel dadurch erreichen läßt, daß man die ›Rhythmen‹ oder ›Patterns‹, die ›Gesetze‹ oder ›Trends‹ entdeckt, die der geschichtlichen Entwicklung zugrunde liegen." (Popper, 1965/67, S. 2)

3) Popper, 1965/87, S. 117-119

4) Haffner, 1985/87, S. 14, 15

5) Zitiert nach Mondrian, 1987, S. 15 (Übersetzung S.B.)

6) Matisse, 1947, S. 81-84 (Übersetzung S.B.)

7) Schelling, 1856-61, zitiert nach Hoffmeister, 1955, S. 67

8) Nietzsche, 1872-74, S. 47

9) Eine kurze Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten theoretischen Konzepte der Psychoanalyse findet sich auf Seite __ dieses Buches.

10) Freud, 1939, GW XVII, S. 70

11) Diese Zusammenhänge wurden schon früh durch Freud aufgedeckt und in mehreren Arbeiten ausführlich besprochen. Der Säugling "halluziniert wahrscheinlich die Erfüllung seiner inneren Bedürfnisse, verrät seine Unlust bei steigendem Reiz und ausbleibender Befriedigung durch die motorische Abfuhr des Schreiens und Zappelns und erlebt darauf die halluzinierte Befriedigung." (Freud, 1911, GW VIII, S. 232, Fußnote)

12) Mit seiner Theorie der beiden Pole unseres Selbst umschreibt Kohut nichts anderes als die elementare Struktur, die das Ich annimmt, wenn es Inhalte des Es oder des Über-Ich integriert. In diesem Sinn steht Kohuts Theorie - trotz gegenteiliger Meinungen vieler Analytiker - in keinem Widerspruch zum Freudschen Konzept des ›psychischen Apparates‹, sondern gibt nur einen anderen Aspekt derselben psychischen Tatbestände wieder. Die beiden Pole des Selbst stellen keine Instanzen dar, sondern funktionelle Verbindungen, die sich aus deren Beziehungsstruktur ergeben. Im exhibitorischen Pol findet die Übereinstimmung zwischen Ich und Es seine psychische Gestalt, im idealisierten Pol die zwischen Ich und Über-Ich.

13) Kant, 1784, S. 20, 21

14) Vgl. Kohut, 1977, S. 223

15) Kunstgeschichtlich: Um diese Zeit bildet sich in Paris um den Maler Edouard Manet die Gruppe junger Künstler, die 1873 die ›Société Anonyme des Artistes peintres, sculpteurs et graveurs‹ begründen sollten (siehe S. _), aus der der ›Impressionismus‹ hervorging. Sozialgeschichtlich: Im belagerten Paris des Winters 1870/71 markierte die Pariser Kommune den Beginn einer neuen Epoche. Nach Haffner ging es dabei "zum erstenmal um die Dinge, um die heute in aller Welt gerungen wird: Demokratie oder Diktatur, Rätesystem oder Parlamentarismus, Sozialismus oder Wohlfahrtskapitalismus, Säkularisierung, Volksbewaffnung, sogar Frauenemanzipation - alles das stand in diesen Tagen plötzlich auf der Tagesordnung. Von allem findet man in der Kommune spontane Urformen." (Haffner, 1985, S. 61).

16) Szczesny, 1974, S. 11

17) Giacometti, 1963, unpaginiert (Übersetzung S.B.)

18) Kohut, 1975, S. 125

19) So unter anderen auch von Herder, Wöllflin, Scheffler, Spengler, Tonybee, Hauser, Focillon

20) Diese Haltung bildet die Ausnahme, die ich aus später zu erörternden Gründen nicht nach der entsprechenden Kunstrichtung, dem Klassizismus, benennen möchte.