Footnotes: IX. The Loss of Reality: The End of Modernism

1 My summarized history takes regard only of those aspects that effected the self-concept of the Western democracies. The political and economic development of the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe and the Third World are only treated in relation to the West.

2 Quoted in Szulc, 1990, p. 101.

3 If we consider these two opposite movements from the perspective of Kohut’s psychology of narcissism, then the revolt of the ‘New Left’ represents an attempt at social healing. The goal is a restoration of the idealized pole of the collective self, i.e. the long overdue realization of the models and ideals in the name of which the West fought against Nazi Germany and Japan. The ‘dropping out’ of the hippies reflects more of a defensive reaction that aims, in the realm of the individual, at maintaining the endangered feeling of self-esteem. The hippies turn away from a disappointing and sickening reality and attempt to cover its deficits by means of external stimulation such as sex, music, and travel, or through the illusion, called forth with the help of drugs, of one’s own wisdom, independence, and perfection.
4 In 1972 the U.S. and North Vietnam signed a cease-fire agreement. After the capitulation of South Vietnam in 1975 north and south were united into the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.

5 See Szulc, 1990, p. 360.

6 Popper, 1984, p. 128.

7 The number of unemployed rose continously in the industrial countries of the West and, according to a forecast by the OECD, should exceed the 35 Million mark by the beginning of 1994 (‘Tages-Anzeiger’ of 11.4.93).

8 Of all sciences psychoanalysis might come closest to providing such a sense through its however still vaguely outlined idea of psychic health, which Freud defines as the ability to love, to work, and to feel pleasure.

9 Lasch, 1980, p. 13.

10 The conditions for a successful healing attempt as described above also apply to the corresponding, i.e. compensatory tendencies within an artistic development.

11 I shall forego describing the institutional practice of psychotherapy, which claims officially to be an attempt at healing; its dissemination within the current ‘psycho boom’ is raising the psychic distress of our society in the public consciousness.

12 These forms of defense find their artistic equivalent especially in the art of the Post-Modern age, duscussed in the following chapter.

13 Krahmer 1974, p. 142 (transl.).

14 The name Transavanguardia internazionale proposed by the Italian art critic Achille Bonito Oliva is too closely linked with the Italian art scene and is out of place in relation to the international development.

15 Hughes, p. 376.

16 Edited by Giancarlo Politi, Milan, no. 92–93, October–November 1979, pp. 17–20.

17 According to Loredana Permesani, “Sandro Chia: la genèse de l’image,” in Art Studio, no. 7, 1987, p. 38.

18 Quoted by Perucchi-Petri in Cucchi 1988, p. 14 (transl.).

19 A number of these have been published in La Disegna, the catalogue of the exhibition of the same name at Kunsthaus Zürich 1988 (Cucchi 1988).

20 Honnef 1988, pp. 136–138.

21 Ibid., p. 108.

22 Art, no. 5 1986, p. 57 (transl.).

23 Polke, 1976.

24 Harald Szeeman, quoted in Honnef 1988, p. 78.

25 cf. Welsch 1988, pp. 46–63.

26 Ibid., p. 39.

27 Quoted in ibid., p. 35.

28 Ibid.

29 Welsch 1988, p. 6ff.

30 Kohut 1978, vol. 2, p. 801.

Fussnoten zu: IX. Der Verlust der Wirklichkeit: das Ende der Moderne

1) Meine summarische Darstellung berücksichtigt nur jene Aspekte dieser Entwicklung, die sich auf das Selbstverständnis der westlichen Demokratien ausgewirkt haben. Die politische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Sowjetunion, Osteuropas und der Dritten Welt wird dabei nur in Bezug zum Westen wahrgenommen.

2) Zitiert nach Szulc, 1990, S. 101 (Übersetzung S.B.)

3) Betrachtet man diese beiden gegensätzlichen Bewegungen unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Kohut'schen Narzißmuspsychologie, so stellt der Aufstand der ›Neuen Linken‹ einen gesellschaftlichen Heilungsversuch dar. Dabei geht es um die Wiederherstellung des idealisierten Pols des kollektiven Selbst, d.h. um die längst fällige Verwirklichung der Leitbilder und Ideale, in deren Namen der Westen gegen das nationalsozialistische Deutschland und Japan gekämpft hat. Das ›Aussteigen‹ der Hippies entspricht dagegen weit eher einer Abwehrreaktion, die im individuellen Bereich nicht mehr auf Heilung, sondern nur noch auf die Aufrechterhaltung des bedrohten Selbstwertgefühls zielt. Die Hippies wenden sich von der enttäuschenden und kränkenden Realität ab und versuchen, deren Defizite durch äußere Stimulationen (wie Sex, Musik, Reisen) oder durch die mit Hilfe von Drogen hervorgerufene Illusion der eigenen Weisheit, Unabhängigkeit und Vollkommenheit zu überdecken.

4) 1972 unterzeichneten die USA und Nordvietnam einen Waffenstillstand. Nach der Kapitulation Südvietnams im Jahr 1975 vereinigten sich Süd- und Nordvietnam zur Sozialistischen Republik Vietnam.

5) Vgl. Szulc, 1990, S. 360

6) Popper, 1984, S. 128

7) Europa zählte schon 1970 zehn Millionen Arbeitslose. Die Zahl der Arbeitslosen nahm in den westlichen Industrieländern ständig zu und wird nach einer Prognose der OECD Anfang 1994 von 32 (1992) auf über 35 Millionen steigen. (›Tages-Anzeiger‹ vom 4.11.93)

8) Vgl. McAuley, 1992, S. 78

9) Immerhin kommt von allen Wissenschaften die Psychoanalyse einer solchen Sinngebung doch am nächsten: durch ihre wenn auch nur vage umrissene Vorstellung der psychischen Gesundheit, die Freud als Liebes-, Arbeits- und Genußfähigkeit definiert.

10) Lasch, 1979

11) Ich verzichte darauf, die institutionalisierte Praxis der Psychotherapie aufzuführen, die sich offiziell als Heilungsversuch zu erkennen gibt und deren Verbreitung im gegenwärtigen ›Psychoboom‹ die psychische Not unserer Gesellschaft ins öffentliche Bewußtsein rückt.

12) Krahmer, 1977, S. 142

13) Die vom italienischen Kunstkritiker Achille Bonito Oliva vorgeschlagene Bezeichnung ›Transavanguardia internazionale‹ bleibt zusehr mit der italienischen Kunstszene verbunden; in Bezug zur internationalen Entwicklung ist sie deplaciert.

14) Zitiert nach Honneff, 1988, S. 34-36

15) ›Flash Art‹ (Editore Giancarlo Politi, Milano), No 92-93, Oktober-November 1979, S. 17-20

16) Nach Loredana Permesani ›Sandro Chia: la genèse de l'image‹ in ›Art Studio‹ No 7, 1987, S. 38

17) Zitiert nach Perucchi-Petri in Cucchi, 1988, S. 14

18) Eine breite Auswahl derselben wurde anläßlich der gleichnamigen Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Zürich (1988) unter dem Titel ›La Disegna‹ in Buchform veröffentlicht (Cucchi, 1988)

19) Honneff, 1988, S. 136-138

20) ebda, S. 132

21) ›Art‹ Nr 5, Mai, 1986, S. 57

22) Polke, 1976

23) Zitiert nach Honneff, 1988, S. 89, 90

24) Vgl. Welsch, 1988, S. 46-63

25) Welsch, 1988, S. 39

26) Zitiert nach Welsch, 1988, S. 35

27) ebda, S. 35

28) Welsch, 1988, S. 6, 7

29) Kohut, 1975, S. 98